Latina Trailblazer Annual Award


The HWNT Latina Trailblazer Award recognizes a woman who has achieved significant success despite the obstacles she has faced along the way. She is a Hispanic woman who has accomplished a "first" and opened the doors of opportunity for other women. This individual leads by example, embodies a positive spirit, works tirelessly to help others in her community, and goes above and beyond the call of duty. No matter what her accomplishments, however, she is a woman who has blazed a trail for others to follow.  

At HWNT's annual State Conference the organization's State Board of Directors honors women, who have blazed a trail for others to follow.  The winners are selected from nominations submitted by HWNT members.  Nominees are distinguished leaders who have achieved excellence in their business or profession, served the community in a meaningful way, and assisted women in reaching their full leadership potential. Read more about our 2019 Trailblazers HERE.



2018 Trailblazers 

Senator Sylvia Garcia

Texas Senator for Harris County District 6

Maria Rios

President and CEO of Nation Waste Inc.

2017 Trailblazers 

Liz Cedillo-Pereira

Dir. of Dallas Office of Welcoming Communities and Immigrant Affairs

Nina Vaca

Founder and Chairman of Pinnacle Group

2016 Trailblazers

Dr. Valerie Martinez-Ebers

Latin American Studies Program at the University of Texas

Michelle Moreno

White House Initiative on Educational Excellence for Hispanics

2015 Trailblazers

Janie Barrera

Presiden and CEO of Liftfund, Inc.

Dr. Ellen Ochoa

Director, NASA's Johnson Space Center

2014 Trailblazer

Sarah R. Saldaña

United States Attorney, Northern District of Texas

2013 Trailblazer

Yolanda Garcia Olivarez

Regional Administrator Region VI U.S. SBA

2012 Trailblazer

Justice Eva Guzman

The Supreme Court of the State of Texas

2011 Trailblazer

Teresa Lozano Long

Philanthropist and Community Leader

2010 Trailblazer

Mary Alice Cisneros

Council Member for the City of San Antonio

2009 Trailblazer

Esperanza "Hope" Andrade

Texas Secretary of State

2008 Trailblazer

Leticia Van de Putte

Texas State Senator

2007 Trailblazer

Judith Zaffirini

Texas State Senator